Living My Dream Life… For Real!

After a few moments of solitude, I have concluded that I am living one of my dream lives.  I have had several different dream lives, I am not sure which I would have “picked” if given 3 wishes.  It probably would have depended on the year combined with the month!  Dreams can be a bit vague, a bit short on details, and they don’t always show you what circumstances will get you into the dream reality.  8 years ago, I was on a path toward world travel and missionary service.  My husband and I were busy all the time, working hard and saving money to go to India for two months.  One day, seemingly out of the blue, we got a call from my then teenage sister in law telling us that she was pregnant.  I said to my husband these exact words (I have no idea why), “That baby should be mine.”  Then we we continued working and saving and we went on that trip to India.  We came back stoked on travelling more, once I recovered from dysentery of course.  We were once again working and saving, this time for a 6 month trip with friends to India and Egypt.  And right before I headed off to work one afternoon I answered the phone.  That phone call asked us to quickly jump a plane to CA to pick up our 15 month old nephew and “baby sit” him while his parents cleaned up their lives.  Without a second thought I said of course we would, and bam! That baby that should have been mine, became mine!  Within days we were arriving back in Boston with our bundle of joy strapped into a borrowed car seat.  And the rest is a dream come true.  I think I completely lost track of where I was going with this.  I did have a dream years ago about having kids and being an amazing mom, my kids would be incredibly awesome (as all hypothetical kids are!).  It wasn’t the dream we settled on or pursued but it was there none the less.  I have always dreamed of being a farmer.  That is one dream that has never changed for me.  I am sitting here, listening to the birds in my back yard singing their babies to sleep, watching a woodchuck fill up on my hosta’s, and pondering on how I got to this place.  I have my ever faithful pot of earl grey steeping quietly at my side, and my kids are spending the evening away with Daddy while I have a date with solitude, earl grey, and cabbage leaves.  If you read my last post you will know why I’m sitting here with cabbage leaves and ice packs pondering the mysteries of life.  My life isn’t easy, my life is messy and complicated just like yours is.  But I am in fact living my dreams.  I did dream of having kids, I did plan to homeschool my hypothetical kids in the country, and I did dream of farming.  I don’t think I have ever dreamed of woodchucks before though!  Kids: check.  I’ve got 2!  Homeschool: check.  This is the end of my third year of homeschooling my miracle boy!  Farm: check.  I have 2 pigeons, 3 ducks, 9 raised beds, 2 strawberry plants, and 5 blueberry bushes!  In my raised beds right at this very moment I have little plants growing!  Radishes, beets, red and yellow onions, peas, beans, kohlrabi, fennel, broccoli raab, golden ball turnips, rutabaga’s, purple top turnips, baby greens, spinach, carrots, parsnips, swiss chard, tomatoes, kale, and hot pepper’s!  Inside I have little cucumber, okra, and squash plants waiting to go outside to play.  I had a delicious duck egg for dinner, laid by my very own Appleyard duck.  It may be small, but it feels like a farm to me.  Each morning as soon as I open my door, my ducks start clamoring for breakfast.  My kids and I don our rubber boots and head out to take care of the farm chores.  How many people get 3 of their dreams to come true by their mid – 30’s?  I’m going to have to assume that I am leading a charmed life!  I imagine that more of my dreams will come true as well, like dairy goats, stately geese, meat chickens, heritage hogs, adorable tiny quail…….  The skies the limit! 

1 Comment

Filed under Family!, Homeschooling, Mini farming!

One response to “Living My Dream Life… For Real!

  1. And to think Mom calls ME Pollyanna! 😉

Leave a Reply

