What to Write About, That is the Question.

  Hi, my name is Julienne and I love the internet.  Feels good to get that off of my chest! I love Netflix, Amazon, Youtube, Facebook, Pinterest, Google (like anyone can truly live without Google!), and BLOGS!!!  I have my go to blogs that I follow regularly.  I love to visit delightfullearning for homeschooling inspiration.  I like Pretty Prudent for ideas and tutorials to make awesome things for babies. Love watching youtube gurus like The Intense Angler as well as Hiram Cook for inspirational projects to build for hiking and camping, oh and Jason Klass. Love his videos too! 

My problem is that my blog seems to have no theme. What should I write about? This is a real problem, I don’t follow theme less blogs, do you?  Of course I Googled my problem and jotted down some tips and pointers.  One tip is make lists of…. Doesn’t matter of what. I love lists, hands down a favorite past time.  Something so satisfying about creating a comprehensive, neat, and orderly list. This strange affinity has not yet increased my productivity, I rarely reference them after making them… I just love a good list (or a neat bar graph).  Anyhow, I got distracted by listing bliss, sorry!  Ok, I’m back on track! Google suggests that I list different topics that I enjoy like hang gliding, waterskiing, spelunking, sleeping inside a dead camel.  Wait!  That is a list of things inspired by watching Bear Gryllis in Man vs. Wild. I had no idea how many places are the LAST place you would ever want to be lost. I am really interested in making hiking/survival gear which is why I watched the show.  Bear sells a large line of survival gear, so far I have only seen him use his knife (to kill a horned viper, skin a goat, butcher a camel, impale a crab, cut a vine, and make eye holes in a T-shirt.) and a sparkie to start a fire for camel steaks.  Now that’s not a menu plan you see often.  Mostly they showed him walking and talking and going down waterfalls on vines, climbing buttresses, and biting the heads off of a wide variety of living insects and animals.  Gross!!!  After he chewed the head off of a frog I decided to switch to youtube for more practical projects.  Projects like turning an altoid tin into a wood stove.  What the heck am I talking about?  Seriously, I have lost track of where I was going other than down this rabbit hole.  Which reminds me of another internet favorite, http://www.storynory.com.  Go there with your kids and listen to Natasha bring great classics like Alice in Wonderland and the Wizard of Oz to life!  Gosh, I love children’s literature.  I’m sure that should tell me something about my mental state or something but who cares?  A good book is a good book at any age.  Mario is reading the book Far North to Jadon for the second time right now.  It is a much more realistic survival story the Man vs. Wild, just saying.  Scrolling up to figure out where I was originally going…….  List of hobbies and interests, ok.  Children’s literature, survival gear, sewing things for babies, natural medicine, Montessori materials, Waldorf supplies, chalk pastels, zen tangles, homeschooling and unschooling, tea, cooking nutrient dense, sugar and fruit free foods, thinking about doing diy projects from Pinterest.  Being a gypsy in a horse drawn vardo, traveling all over the world and having a grand adventure.   Winnie the Pooh had a grand adventure in the hundred acre wood, A. A. Milne wrote some good stories!  I also have a penchant for composting toilets, worm farming (haven’t tried it yet), square foot gardening, root cellaring (don’t have one), putting together go bags, freezer bag cooking, dehydrators, mini farming, sewing, geocaching (haven’t tried it yet), home renovation, paper bag flooring (haven’t done this), pond life, and finding places that you cannot hear any cars.  That’s all I can think of right now.  Aren’t lists fun? I just discovered the note making feature on my ipad mini, electronic listing. What’s not to love? Ok, I need you to help me out.  What should I blog about???

5 Comments

Filed under Literature, Uncategorized

5 responses to “What to Write About, That is the Question.

  1. Laura

    Your mother is right, thoroughly enjoy reading your writing, you are very good at it. I had a thought on a theme. What about letters to your children that are meant for them to read as an adult? I would love to have read something like that because every now and then I wonder if I’ve really changed all that much or do I just forget what I used to be like. Maybe that would be totally different than what you have in mind for a blog but a nice additional blog. Thanks for writing!

    • That is a cool idea! When Jadon was little, I scrapbooked his every move and hid some secret notes for him to find later. Your idea would be a great way to remember the things you think you’ll never forget, and save them for the kids too. Thanks Laura!

  2. Hey my love-blog in defense of paper, even as I embrace technology @ meetings. Hehehehehe

  3. kburrelly

    Oldest dearest, You have embraced what I has just become my revelation. Write abut writing like our bearded hero!

  4. Jennifer McKissic

    Love the way your mind flows!

Leave a Reply

